'Madonna del Buon Consiglio' Sanctuary


The Sanctuary holds a copy of the original painting of 'Mary Mother of Good Counsel' from Genazzano near Rome.
It was in 1470 when a Castiglionese pilgrim who had traveled precisely to Genazzano brought the work back with him to place it in a pillar at the edge of the village. Five years later, on April 26, 1475, Anna Balbi, a young woman from Castiglione, blind from birth, felt a strong desire in her heart to go to the Pylon of Our Lady of Good Counsel to pray. She had herself accompanied, and during the prayer an extraordinary event happened: the Virgin Mary appeared to her and Anna received the gift of sight! From that day numerous pilgrims began to come to this place.
Around the pillar was first built a small chapel and later the present Sanctuary completed in 1859.

